Our Boards

From left to right: CLC’s Founder, Kemie Nix, and original
Board Members Charity Mwangi, Dot MacFarlane, and Judy Marine

Board of Trustees
Julie Boggs
Ashley Bollwerk
Laura Boyd
Sara Fekete
Mattison Green
Emily Hilimire
Melba Wynn Hill
Mary Hollowell
Khaliah Johnson, MD
Thea Johnson
Mark Wallace Maguire
Judy Marine
Kemie Nix
Richard Oglesby
Moira Small
Judy Grimes, Trustee Emeritus
Dot MacFarlane, Trustee Emeritus
Debbie Green, Ex Officio

Advisory Board
Therese Bigelow, Librarian
Henry Bowden, Jr., Attorney
Ashley Bryan (1933-2022)
Susan Cooper, Author
Christopher Paul Curtis, Author
Diane Dillon, Author and Illustrator
Charity Mwangi, Founder, Mt. Kenya Academy, Africa
Osayimwense Osa, Professor, Virginia State University
Katherine Paterson, Author
Louis Sachar, Author
Abi Joy Nix, Psychotherapist
Suzanne Fisher Staples (1945-2022)
Yoko Watkins (1933-2021)
Randolph Whitfield, Jr., Ophthalmologist, Africa